Jhumpa Lahiri’s ‘In Other Words’ & A Language That Touched My Soul

I read an article on the New Yorker about this book some weeks ago. I look forward reading this book, her adventure is the adventure of us all – when we start our travel in a foreign language…

Italophilia

I can’t believe I’m finally writing a review for a book that I have waited so long, a book I knew from the very start, will be something I’d love, something I’d cherish forever.

Jhumpa Lahiri’s “In Other Words” is her memoir- an experience while learning Italian. It is a beautiful dedication, a different her.

Now that I am learning Italian myself, I can relate to so many of the things she does and says in the book that its almost unbelievable yet funny. It almost seems like she is talking about my experience with learning the language. I can feel her sense of helplessness as well as her passion. I know I am a different person now that I learn Italian as she is.

In Other Words is an honest and lyrical confession of her ups and downs while learning Italian.

IMG_20160211_190614_HDR

I had goosebumps while reading many passages, I felt…

View original post 333 more words

Leave a Reply

